De Nora Symposium

Due to Covid-19 restrictions and limitations, De Nora could not host the event in person as in previous years. The event was conducted in a virtual setting this allowed us to “experiment” and significantly expand the program.

In an effort to allow the largest audience possible- from nearly every continent- the event was held across several consecutive days, consisting of short sessions. Attendees (both industry experts and students) represented the countries of Brazil, USA, UAE, South Africa, Cote d’Ivoire, Italy, France, Germany, India, China, Japan, UK, and Finland.

As part of the traditional core of the symposium, topics included

  • fuel cell technologies and
  • water treatment: PFAS removal, Advanced Oxidation Processes (AOPs), Disinfection byproducts (DBPs).

Additionally, this year's event featured the topics of:

  • sustainable innovation,
  • and digital transformation and the Internet of Things.


A virtual platform made it possible for De Nora to incorporate the first-ever Student Pitch Competition in place of a poster session.  


From the numerous applications received, we selected 17 students who pitched their research projects. These projects were evaluated by judges coming from various De Nora teams. The engagement and high quality of every pitch and project was impressive.


Ethan Arnold-Paine (University of Pittsburgh)

Daniel Ocasio (University of California, Berkeley)

Qianhong Zhu (Yale University)


We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank all of our De Nora colleagues, guests, and especially the students who took the time to attend and participate in the 9th Annual Tech Symposium.


Fuel cells: Sanjeev Mukarjee (Northeastern University), Chulsung Bae (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Yushan Yan (University of Delaware), Loredana Magistri (University of Genoa, IT), Darija Susac (University of Cape Town, South Africa), Bryan Pivovar (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)

Water technologies: Michael Wong (Rice University), David Sanchez (University of Pittsburgh), William Mitch (Stanford University), David Reckhow and Patrick Wittbold (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), Mohamed Ateia (Northwestern University)

Sustainable Innovation: Carine Mineau (WeCo, FR), Emanuele Biraghi (UNICEF, Cote d’Ivoire)

Digital transformation and IoT: Micheal Askins (TaseLabs), Patrick Bangert (Algorithmica), Jacopo Piana (Quick Algorithm, IT), Sami Remes and Harri Kaukovalta (, Finland)


Fuel cells: Bryan Pivovar (National Renewable Energy Lab), Iryna Zenyuk (University of California, Irvine), Andrew Thomas (Cleveland State University)

Water technologies: Meagan Mauter (Stanford University and NAWI), William Mitch (Stanford University and ReNUWIt), Ernest Davis (Rice University and NEWT)

(note: NAWI, ReNUWIt, and NEWT are industry-academia consortia and programs active in the world of water; De Nora is particularly involved in NEWT)